Skip to content

Criminal Minds

Criminal Minds is a procedural police drama with an ensemble cast that began airing on CBS in 2005. The series follows the endeavors of a team of criminal profilers in the FBI’s Behavioral Analysis Unit. Unlike most police, the BAU tries to focus on finding criminals with psychological analysis; they use terms like “unsub” (unknown subject) to refer to suspects. The series stars Shemar Moore as Derek Morgan, Matthew Gray Gubler as Dr. Spencer Reid, Thomas Gibson as Aaron Hotchner, Kirsten Vangsness as Penelope Garcia, AJ Cook as Jennifer Jareau (JJ), Joe Mantegna as David Rossi, and Paget Brewster as Emily Prentiss.

The series focuses on one crime per episode, but also features many rotating subplots relevant to its main cast, such as plots about the profilers’ love lives or family lives. The series tends to be relatable to a wide audience because of the variety of characters it features in its ensemble style.

The series has won 21 awards and received 30 nominations. Due to its longevity, it has built up quite a following. The series was renewed for a thirteenth season on April 7, 2017.

Season 1
Season 2
Season 3

Back to Crime Library

Back To Top